Fathers Day

It’s Fathers Day this Sunday.

It’s a time of joy for many and a time of sadness for others. I have been blessed with three wonderful children and a beautiful wife. I’m not working this weekend and will enjoy their company and whatever they choose to do for me. It doesn’t matter what they do. It’s being with them that matters.

This was reinforced recently at a Christian Men’s Breakfast. The guest speaker talked about how busy our lives have become. How we get so caught up in what we are doing and the demands our careers place upon us that we can ignore our children. He recited the words of this song. It was very powerful

If I’m truly honest I have fallen into this trap a few times. Either with my children or with my father. How many times have you heard your parents say something similar to “It’s ok. You have enough to worry about. Come when you can”? How many times have you passed an opportunity to spend time with your kids because work was pulling the strings?

I have had some great times with my Dad though and these far outweigh the few occasions where I’ve fell short of my duty as a son.

I caddied for him as a kid when he played golf. We ran down the beach together and played cricket. He took me to work and showed me the printing presses and folding machines. The smell of a printers still takes me back to my childhood. He taught me photography. He bought me my first “legal” pint, read at my wedding and revelled in the birth of my children. Overall he has been a huge constant in my life. As he should be.

I have over the last few years been pushing and cajoling Dad to give up his driving licence. His driving was never brilliant and over the years it has progressively deteriorated. I wanted him to volunteer to surrender his licence instead of being forced to after a serious accident and who knows what consequences. Just recently he pulled out of an exit, got dazzled by oncoming headlights, mounted the kerb and scraped the side of his car along a lamp post. He didn’t tell me as he thought I would tell him off. I found this rather amusing. As a child I would be frightened to tell him about some of the things I did for fear of getting told off. How and when does that situation go through a reversal?

Whilst visiting a few days ago the car wasn’t there but he was. He confessed and told me the car was being repaired. He told me it was being tidied up and would be ready to sell next year when he planned to hang up his car keys. I accepted his decision but I think we both knew I would continue to badger him.

Dad is a friend. Someone I can tell things to that I wouldn’t tell my mother. In his book no problems are ever so big that they cannot be overcome by a couple of pints and a chat in the pub. He has steered me true. He is a perfect gentleman and raised me to have those same qualities. He is a man of quiet dignity and pride. Standards I strive to achieve.

Not only do I act like him. I look like him, talk like him and share the same interests and passions. He is the man who shaped me into the man I have become and the man I am still yet to be. The man who taught me that faith, family, and friends are the three most important things in my life.

Sunday is Fathers Day. I will spend time with my children. I will hug them, hold them and love them. I won’t see my Dad but I will talk to him. I won’t get to hug him but I will hold him in my heart where he has always been and where he will always stay.

My Dad is ace. My Dad is brilliant. My Dad is everything I hope to be and more. My Dad is an essential part of me. My Dad is a rock. My Dad is the foundations upon which my life has been built. My Dad is quite simply the best.

My Dad passed away last Tuesday evening. He walks with me now and always will.

God bless you Dad and thank you.

12 thoughts on “Fathers Day”

  1. …and your Father is in heaven tonight beaming with pride at the quality son he left in the world! What a great legacy! Thank you.

  2. A beautiful and very moving tribute to your Dad, sending you and yours much love and strength for the coming weeks and months.

    Saz x

  3. What a lovely tribute. Condolences to you and your family at this very sad time. You’re right though. Your Dad walks with you and always will, and with your children. I lost my Dad suddenly 2 days after Father’s Day 3 years ago. Miss him every day and particularly at this time but I know he’s my guardian angel and still there for me when I need him. Keep talking to your Dad. Not just Sunday. All the best x

  4. Have to confess to being slightly envious, I have an awkward relationship with my dad, who, whist a good good Christian man, is somewhat emotionally retarded due to the nature of his own up bringing.

    This is something I’m breaking my back not to emulate with my own kids. There are some aspects of him I do strive to emulate however.

    My God be with you in these difficult days.

  5. What a wonderful man your Dad sounded , makes me realise at 78, my fit healthily Pops isn’t going to be here forever !!
    So sorry for your loss, myself & my partner (cop at DurhamPoliceK9)send our heartfelt wishes & condolences..
    Amanda x

  6. My Dad has also gone, 19 years ago. I miss him, I want to speak to him about stupid things, like when Scotland beat France at footie all those years ago, and unusually , I wanted to phone up and have chat on the phone. But he is still there as he was all those years ago and for all those years that I needed him. Lets all sing out to our Dads. They are who we are

  7. When I was in my early 20’s I chose to go out with a boy instead of having a family lunch at home. If only someone had told me that that would have been the last time I would see my Father. A decision I regret.

    Lovely piece!

  8. Oh Sarg, I’m so sorry. As I write, I am sitting at my own beloved Dad’s bedside, at 2.30am, in hospital, on his second week here…he’s battling cancer. I send you my love, and sincere, heartfelt sympathy. To lose your Dad, your hero…there are no words. You and your lovely family are in my thoughts. God bless. X

Leave a Reply

